An exciting month ahead

Standard

As I promised earlier in the week, I have added a page to this blog dedicated to my show ‘Pages from the Book of…’ Please read, learn and let me know if there’s anything I can do to improve it.
On other news, my other company ‘The Same, But Different’ is performing in 2 weeks time as part of Lost Theatre’s 5 Minute Festival. For this, we’re adapting our show ‘Starring James Franco’ to apply to the festival’s rules, that is, to be 5 minutes long.Excitingly, you can all watch this online and vote on your favourite act (us of course). Every night there are 2 winners who all go through to the finale. Then, of course there will be a vote for the winning company. Competitions aside, it’s going to be great fun and a highly energetic night I’m sure. Here is what’s written on the Lost Theatre website:

We live in an age when no-one has time.

Average viewers spend between 3 and 7 minutes on an internet video.

Advertisers get whole stories into 30 seconds.

Reduced Shakespeare squeezed the bard’s works into 70 minutes.

Hamlet thought brevity the soul of wit.

The Japanese that haiku was the highest form of art.

LOST is proud to present the UK’s 40 most talented, innovative companies battling it out in front of a live and online audience to make it to this year’s Grand Final. Each night will consist of ten companies performing for five minutes each.
Watch this space, and I will provide more details about the show and a link to watch it on-line, before the day.
One other thing, also ‘Same but different’ related; as an experiment in writing more than one chapter every 3 months, I have signed up to NatNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month. So, in November there will hundreds of people stressing and straining to write a 50,000 word or more novel in a month.

My novel will be based on my persona in The Same, But Different, Gylligan the Traveller. Other than this, I have no idea what I’ll do with it. Anyway, I start this tomorrow.

So, exciting days and exciting blog posts ahead, better than this one at least. So, come with me readers, and we’ll talk theatre, literature and absurdity!

Leave a Reply

